Regulations governing the award of Research Excellence of University of Peradeniya

- 1. This regulation shall be governed by the provisions cited as Regulation No. 01 of 2021 of the University of Peradeniya, made in terms of Section 136 of the Universities Act.
- 2. It is hereby determined as required by Part V Section 29 (m) of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978, that the mode and conditions of competition for the award of the "Research Excellence Award of University of Peradeniya" as endowed by Professor Lakshman Samaranayake, an Alumnus of the University of Peradeniya. This will be a prestigious award in order to recognize outstanding research on the part of researchers at the University of Peradeniya, shall be governed by the following provisions:
 - 2.1 The Award(s) shall be called "Professor Lakshman Samaranayake Research Excellence Award of University of Peradeniya" (hereinafter referred to as "the award").
 - **2.2** There shall be an annual cash award and a certificate of recognition.
 - **2.3** The Award (s) is for recognition of exceptional achievement in research and discovery, awarded internally as a mark of distinction.
 - 2.4 The Award(s) will be available to academic staff who are active in research and are in the permanent cadre of the University of Peradeniya (hereinafter referred to as "the candidate/s") The candidate/s shall supply evidence of research at the highest international level in the form of :
 - documented evidence of international recognition of research accomplishments such as publications in high impact factor venues, H – Index etc.
 - (ii) quality and quantity of research publications;
 - (iii) supply the evidence in the form of research grants, taking into account the prestige of the funding bodies and the size of the grants awarded; and
 - (iv) high impacted applied research work including acclaimed creative arts, productions and innovation.
 - **2.5** Once the awards are advertised, the candidate/s for the Award(s) shall either apply in person or be nominated by the Dean of the Faculty.
 - 2.6 Dean must constitute a Faculty Sub-Committee for the selection of research excellence award with at least two senior professors / professors of the Faculty on the recommendations of the Faculty Board using a marking scheme approved by the Faculty Board for the said purpose and rank them with justifications.

- **2.7** The details of the nominated candidate/s, together with the names of all applicants, marking schemes and the relevant justifications should be sent to the Vice-Chancellor's Selection Committee.
- **2.8** The award shall then be awarded on the recommendation of the selection Committee comprising the Vice-Chancellor (Chairman), the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and another senior academic staff member to be co-opted, as necessary.
- **2.9** Award decisions by the Selection Committee are final and not subject to appeal, except in cases of alleged procedural irregularities.
- **2.10** The final selection of recipient of the award shall be confirmed by the Senate based on the recommendation of the Selection Committee.
- **2.11** The award shall be withheld when no candidate of appropriate caliber is found as per the view of the Selection Committee.
- 3. To ensure equity and fairness in the distribution of awards across all faculties of the university the following award scheme will be implemented. Awards shall be annually granted to a single faculty within each Cluster (see below) on a *rotational basis* (i.e., one award per cluster, and a total of three awards per year).

The Faculty clusters are as follows:

Cluster I:	Medicine, Dental Sciences, and Allied Health Science						
Cluster II:	Agriculture, Engineering	Veterinary	Medicine	&	Animal	Science	and

Cluster III: Arts, Science and Management

The following table illustrates the award sequence for the first three years and the identical sequence that should be followed thereafter:

	Year I	Year II	Year III
Cluster I	Medicine	Dental Sciences	Allied Health Sciences
Cluster II	Agriculture	Engineering	Veterinary Medicine
Cluster III	Arts	Science	Management

- 4. Any new Faculty/s constituted in future could be incorporated into a cluster as deemed appropriate by the Vice-Chancellor, and the number of awards per years amended as necessary.
- 5. A candidate who has received the Award once shall not re-apply for the award.
- 6. No faculty in a cluster shall receive the award in two consecutive years.
- 7. This award is inaugurated by Prof. L P Samaranayake, an alumnus of the Faculty of Dental Sciences of the University of Peradeniya and an internationally renowned researcher, through a kind donation of Rupees three million (Rs.3,000,000.00) to create a fund for research excellence.
- 8. Eighty percent of the annual interest from the above investment, or a sum decided by the University from time to time, shall be utilized for the annual award and the balance added to the capital at the end of each year.
- 9. If the award is not given in any particular year, the entire annual income shall be credited to the capital.
- 10. In all matters arising in relation to the above award the decision of the Senate shall be final.
- 11. Where a sum of money donated to the University is found to be inadequate, the University may alter the terms of the award in consultation with the donor or his/her heirs and assigns.
- 12. The University shall have the sole discretion to determine the type of investment of the capital from time to time in order to obtain the best possible return on such investment.
- 13. No award shall be given to any member against whom disciplinary or legal action is pending or to any member who has been subjected to punishment by the University or a Court of Law.